Wordless Wednesday, but not today

Sorry, no Wordless Wednesday today.  There’s a picture I want to do, but I don’t have it yet.  So you are stuck with my words this time.

So much has been going on, anyway.  The good and the bad…

First the good news!  C and H welcomed a brand new baby girl on November 21, 2008 at 7:14 am.  Anabelle Lee was 6 lbs 9.5 oz and 19.5 inches long.  I can’t wait to meet her, guys!  Welcome to the world baby Bella!!!

Then, of course, there is the other news.  N’s grandmother, G, became very sick a few weeks ago.  After various doctor visits and tests, it was determined that she had cancer in her abdomen, and she had surgery last Friday to remove the tumor.  Thankfully, surgery went well, and she is now recovering at home.  We are praying, and hopefull that she will make a full recovery.  She’s only 93 years old!

And finally, tomorrow being Thanksgiving, I also want to add in my thanks for the following blessings:

Good health, a wonderful husband, and two great kids.  It’s not always easy but we still have a home and food on the table.  N’s family who have really taken me in as one of their own, and shown me what ‘family’ can really mean.  Friends, especially the ones who still put up with me despite how horrible I am at keeping in touch.  My boys…mentioned already but I can’t ever say enough how thankful I am for them.

I am also thankful to be able to see the beauty in the world, hear the sounds of laughter and singing, to smell the wonderful aroma of a crisp fall day or a whiff of honeysuckle on an early summer evening, to taste the delicious foods that are available, and to feel a hug from my son or a caress from my husband.

I am grateful to have a warm place to come into from the cold, to have a reliable car to get me where I need to be, and to have access to everything I need and many of the the things I want.

I strive so hard for contentment and happiness, and I so often backslide… thinking that if I only had *something* more, I’d be happy.  Once again, I am going to enter into the holiday season with the goal of coming out the other side content, happy with what I have and who I am, and ready to face a new year with my head held high.  One of these years, I am going to succeed at that goal.  Here’s hoping it’s this one!

Leave a comment